August 7, 2007

More than 50 British MPs have joined forces to call for the release of 12 MPs from Burma who have been imprisoned by the dictatorship ruling the country. The MPs are demanding that the UN Special Envoy to Burma and the British government step up efforts to release these MPs, and all political prisoners in Burma.

The MPs have signed an Early Day Motion – a parliamentary petition – that was put down by Chris McCafferty MP. They draw particular attention to Khun Tun Oo, an MP from the Shan National League for Democracy, who is reported to be unwell and denied proper medical treatment.

“As a former political prisoner, I am very pleased to see so many British MPs supporting our colleagues still suffering in prison,” said Myo Thein, Campaigns Officer at Burma Campaign UK. “I hope that the British government will step up its work to secure the release of political prisoners.”

Full text of the Early Day Motion follows:
That this House expresses deep concern about the 12 members of the Burmese Parliament currently in detention in Burma; calls for the immediate release of Aung Soe Myint, Khin Maung Swe, Khun Tun Oo, Khin Maung Win, Kyaw Khin, Kyaw Min, Kyaw San, Dr May Win Myint, Saw Hlaing, Dr Than Nyein, Zaw Myint Maung and Saw Naing Naing; expresses particular concern about the condition of Khun Tun Oo, the Shan National League for Democracy member, who is in ill-health and is being denied proper medical attention; and calls on the Government to increase efforts to secure the release of these MPs and on the UN Special Envoy to Burma immediately to press the regime in Burma to release these MPs and all political prisoners in Burma.

For more information contact Myo Thein on 020 7324 4720

Related Posts